Green Salad with Fruit

This week I have focused on re-setting my eating habits. Even though I am a vegetarian and eat healthy most of the time, life can get in the way and things like french fries and cheese can deter me. So last Sunday my wonderful neighbor invited me over for lunch. She had made a green salad with strawberries and bananas. I have never tried fruit in a green salad before so I was intrigued.

This is an example of what the salad resembled. Picture courtesy of http://mikes-table.themulligans.org/

She offered a raspberry vinaigrette to go with the salad. She had frozen the fruit prior to making the salad so when I took a bite my initial thought was “How refreshing!”. We live in Florida in horrible debilitating heat so for me this discovery was very exciting.  The salad was a mixture of romaine hearts and arugula. The dressing is what tied the whole salad together a light hint of raspberry added a little sweetness but at the same time a tartness and it really brought out the natural flavors of the fruit. The salad was delicious and I was so delighted by it that I had two big bowls which is unlike me.

So for those of you who have not tried fruit with a green salad please give it a chance. I never thought I would like it either but I am glad I gave it a chance because after having this meal something shifted in me and I have ate healthy all week.  I plan on experimenting more with different fruits, dressings and adding nuts the next time I make one. I will keep you posted.

Love and Light,

Alicia

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Salad with Fruit

  1. Jessie says:

    That salad sounds delicious! I am obsessed with arugula these days. 🙂

  2. Darlene says:

    Yum, sounds great! Try chilled mandarin oranges and pecans in a green salad, it’s great.

Leave a Reply

